HELP all of my emotions are poetic
sorry for being a shit friend.
you are missed. december?
Part two of our series on common animal ingredients in our food and products. In their natural form, these ingredients are #NotVegan or #NotVegetarian. Vegan or Vegetarian alternatives are typically synthetic.
1⃣ Keratin: Natural Keratin is an extremely strong protein that is a major component in skin, hair, nails, feathers, hooves, horns, and teeth. Used in hair rinses, shampoos, and permanent wave solutions. Keratin is not naturally found in vegetables. Vegan keratin products might contain the amino acids necessary to produce keratin naturally.
2⃣ L-cysteine/L-cystine (E920) Animal: (Poultry. Typically duck feathers) Hog’s hair as a source is likely when the hair/feather supply is low. Used as a dough conditioner in most bread products. It is most common in pizza dough and bagels. Einstein Bros, Dunkin Donuts, Pizza Hut, and McDonalds have all confirmed the use of poultry feather-based L. Cysteine in many of their other products.
3⃣ Lanolin. (Wool Fat. Wool Wax) A product of the oil glands of sheep, extracted from their wool. Used as an emollient in many skin-care products and cosmetics and in medicines. Most chewing gums list “gum base” as one of their ingredients, masking lanolin as an ingredient. The starting material used to produce this vitamin D3 is Lanolin.
4⃣ Pepsin. In cow and hogs’ stomachs. A clotting agent used in some cheeses and vitamins. Pepsin is a component of rennet (see below) used to curdle milk during the manufacture of cheese.
5⃣ Rennet [Rennin] Enzyme from the stomach of slaughtered newly-born calves. Used in cheesemaking, rennet custard (junket), and in many coagulated dairy products. The coagulation of milk is achieved by the addition of rennet. Most cheeses (especially Parmesan, Grana Padano, and Gorgonzola are NOT vegetarian.
➡ Up next: Part Three (R-W) #VegansofIG
oh dear god. jeeeessssuuussssss….